Doom Wiki:Criteria for speedy deletion


Information icon.svgAlthough this article aims to represent consensus on the Doom Wiki, it is still a work in progress. This site is less complete and less frequently edited than an established site like Wikipedia; furthermore, our editors and administrators traditionally proceed by common sense rather than interpreting policies to the letter. Therefore, this page does not evolve in lockstep with our article content, and no written policy or guideline is expected to cover every situation.

This page, like all project pages, can be edited by anyone. However, please ensure that your revision is compatible with any existing consensus (established by discussion and/or repeated precedent). You are also encouraged to discuss, critique, or challenge any policy or guideline outlined here on the talk page.

This page describes the speedy deletion policy of the Doom Wiki, explaining how to request or process speedy deletions. This page does not cover copyright or licensing issues; for such information, please see Doom Wiki:Copyrights.

The criteria below specify pages and files which have broad consensus support for deletion. In these cases, and only in these cases, administrators may use their discretion to bypass deletion discussions and delete items immediately. Any registered user can also nominate a page or file for speedy deletion; an administrator will then review it, and may delete it without discussion.

Community input and consensus-building are the expected forms of decision-making on the Doom Wiki, and administrator actions are more difficult to undo than normal edits. Therefore, discussion should be bypassed only in the most obvious cases. This list describes items that can be deleted, not items that must be deleted. Administrators are expected to use their common sense to determine if a simpler, better solution is available. Whenever doubt arises, a normal deletion thread should be opened.

If a page has survived a prior deletion discussion, it should not be speedily deleted unless new issues are discovered. Contributors sometimes build pages over several edits; avoid deleting a page that appears incomplete very soon after its creation.

To tag an item for speedy deletion, use Template:SpeedyDelete, entering the appropriate number below as the first parameter. This adds it to the speedy deletion category.

Creators and major contributors to pages and files should be notified of speedy deletion nominations.

Valid reasons for speedy deletion[edit]

1. Renamed or duplicate category[edit]

Categories that are renamed, or those that duplicate an existing category, may be redirected to the new category, or deleted.

2. Improperly named category[edit]

Improperly named categories, or categories that violate the basic naming conventions, may be speedily deleted.

3. Copyright violation[edit]

Content is apparently a copyright violation, with no clear evidence of compatible licensing being issued by the copyright holder. Repeated uploading of such material may lead to the uploading user's account being temporarily or permanently blocked. Such material represents a real and immediate legal liability for stakeholders in the underlying infrastructure that supports this project.

4. Duplicate file[edit]

The file is an exact or scaled-down duplicate of an older existing file. The generally accepted rule is to delete the newer duplicate, but that may not always be the case. Note that for very large files, it may be acceptable to have a scaled-down duplicate for accessibility reasons.

5. Duplicate template[edit]

A recently created template that duplicates an existing older template.

6. User requested deletion in own user space[edit]

User requested deletion of their own user page or user-subpage. User pages that are blanked by the user may also be deleted under this criterion.

7. User page of non-existent user[edit]

User space of non-existent user. Redirects may be created (and protected) for those user names of which the account has been renamed.

8. Inappropriate use of user pages[edit]

Inappropriate use of user pages. These include user pages that contain purely advertising or promotional material, or those that are created with the intention of harassment or attack. Those that contain gibberish or unrecognizable content may also be deleted under this criterion.

9. Test page or accidental creation[edit]

Page contains redundant content that was previously used for testing, or was accidentally created.

10. Non-sense or no valid content[edit]

Page contains only content that is gibberish or nothing meaningful. This may include text or messages placed in talk pages (which have no further history) that do not help or refer to the related page.

11. Unused, implausible, or broken redirect[edit]

Page is an unused and implausible redirect, or a redirect that is dependent on deleted or non-existent content. Unused talk page redirects that were created as a result of a page move, or cross-namespace redirects, may also be deleted under this criterion.

12. Spam, vandalism, threat, or attack[edit]

Content that is posted with the intention of advertising external goods or services, enhancing SEO of other websites, causing damage, or with the intention of threatening, harassing, or attacking another person or user. Users that commit such acts are subject to their accounts being temporarily or permanently blocked, depending on the severity of the action. Content posted with the intention of creating/spreading hoaxes may also be deleted under this criterion.

13. Recreation of content previously deleted per consensus[edit]

Page or file matches content that was previously deleted per community consensus. Repeated recreation of such content may lead to the user's account being blocked. The author or uploader may ask the deleting administrator to restore the file or article.

14. Temporary deletion for history cleaning or revision suppression[edit]

Content temporarily deleted to remove specific revisions containing vandalism, threats/attacks, or personally identifying information. Content may also be temporarily deleted to perform a history merge or split.

15. Uncontroversial maintenance[edit]

Content temporarily deleted to make way for page move, or other uncontroversial maintenance tasks that require temporary or permanent deletion.

16. Personality rights issues[edit]

An article, photograph, or other media which contains personally identifying information or infringes on personality rights of private individuals must be deleted at that person's request. Similar to copyright violations, personality rights issues represent a legal liability to the wiki infrastructure's stakeholders.


The Doom Wiki
Policy Portal
Official policies:
Content guidelines: