HOM in Strife's startup screen[edit]

Hello, could you give a helpful comment on this, please? --Jartapran 18:03, 27 November 2013 (UTC)

Quasar possess better knowledge than me on the way Strife works technically because he reverse-engineered it, but I see you already talked to him and he said he doesn't know anything about it, though he is the best person to explain how Strife works. Unfortunately, the causes of this bugs are unknown to me. I made a video[1] of this some time ago, watch it if you want to know what it looks like. I strongly suggest you use vanilla Doom for accurate information, because Chocolate-Doom can't replicate this bug correctly and it is harder to reproduce because it loads faster. I made a bug report[2] about this in which I explain how to replicate the bug in vanilla, so you can use this information that may help you. You can also read Quasar's last comment where he said the code that handles this is written in assembly and other stuff. The information is pretty limited, I can only guess that there's something in the menu code that prevents the scene from being drawn, because the menu just pauses the game and the only thing that remained in the buffer was a black background after the fade-out. It's very hard to reproduce, because the game (even in DosBox) loads very fast on a modern computer and the escape key must be pressed at the right moment. Anyway, if you can't reproduce it, just watch the video. --AXDOOMER 22:43, 27 November 2013 (UTC)
Yeah, from the video I would say I can confirm that it's a result of the "dirty rects" refresh system. Vanilla Doom for DOS updates as little of the screen as possible, and it does that by maintaining a list of boxes on the screen that need updating. This is probably very closely related to the old "idclev in the menus causes half the screen to become HOM" glitch from Doom, which was due to the same reason. --Quasar 23:13, 27 November 2013 (UTC)


Please see File talk:TelefragE2M1.png, as I have nominated the file to be undeleted. Please do not reupload it in the meantime, as it's unnecessary - "deleted" files are still available actually, they're just hidden from normal users. I see no reason it should not be restored given what's come to light. --Quasar (talk) 04:56, 17 September 2014 (UTC)